La Dolce Vita comes to Islington

I must admit it: what with the bad weather and a shortage in my Italian food supplies, I had started feeling homesick. Thankfully, this weekend La Dolce Vita Event came to my rescue.

Held at the Business Design Centre in Upper Street, Islington, La Dolce Vita is an exhibition aimed at loving and discovering all the best Italian things. London never fails to display its love for my country: despite the crisis, the venue is at its ninth edition and it was packed with Italy-lovers (and with Italians, like me). 

The exhibition had many sections: “The Taste of Italy” provided visitors with food from every Italian region; “La Cucina Italiana Stage” offered sessions with professional Chefs in which you could learn how to cook traditional Italian dishes; “Explore Italy” was a chance to buy a property or to book a holiday in any of the wonderful Italian destination; “Aperitivo Time!” offered a relax area in the Birra Moretti Bar. Fashion was also present, with Italian jewellery and more. Needless to say, I focused on the food stalls. 

From Sicilian ice cream and arancini to Roman calzoni, from Piadina Romagnola to Sardinian liqueurs, from cheese to wine, one could taste literally everything. The cooking sessions were fun as well, with the Italian chefs making fun of themselves with an answer to many stereotypes: everyone seems to think all of us are able to do stunts while making pizzas, but that actually requires a 3-week course. 

Being Sardinian, I paid particular attention to the stalls coming from my own region. Therefore I met Tore and Lucia, from Olmedo, in the North-West of Sardinia. Lucia and Tore’s family have a business called Isolabuona, which sells typically Sardinian products. Lucia and her brothers are based in New Haven , here in England, but Tore chose to remain in Sardinia. “My brothers, poveracci ( poor them!), have been living in here for 12 years! I love England but I couldn’t leave my land”.

I also spoke to Mr. Murgia, from Cagliari, South Sardinia. He has invented a new type of energy drink made from myrtle, a plant generally used to make a very strong Sardinian liqueur. His drink can be used as a base for many cocktails.

I then spoke to Mr.Bruno Murru, from Irgoli, centre Sardinia, who owns the Azienda Salumificio Murru. He has been living here for 12 years too and sells his meat to many restaurants. He also has a stall in Marylebone High Street every Saturday Morning.

For diet and university reasons, I had to leave before I actually wanted to. However, be it the sun, the ice cream or the food, I finally felt at home for an hour an a half.

Pictures: Author’s own

11 thoughts on “La Dolce Vita comes to Islington

  1. Heh,this is good to see as an Italian in the U.K Where are you based Carolina? Im in Brighton. I must say although i feel the same way about you in terms of Italian culture and food,i have to admit after returning to Brighton after visitng family in Livorno last week i cant say im missing Italy in terms of its standrad of living,economy or politics. Italy just feels misreable at the moment,shops closing down,people emigrating en masse,no hope at all. Livorno was a bit of a dump beforehand but now it looks awful. I must say im glad to be living in Brighton. I love Italy,i really do but there is no future for me there at all,besides i love Brighton,so tolerable and quirky,which i have laways admired the brits for,their way of style and tolerable nature,and their polite manners,something us continental Europeans should take note of! but you should come and visit Brighton because it is awesome and the weather is lovely! always sunny and not too cold or hot either! just right!! Ciao!!!

    • Hi 🙂 I’m based in London and I visited Brighton once. It’s really lovely! I wouldn’t mind living in there. What do you do in Brighton? I really hope that what I’m learning here will help me to come back and make even a small change in Italy 🙂

      • Im currently studying Sports Science at the univerisity here. Im really enjoying it here so far. I suffer from ADHD and i do find the care that people with learning difficulties in the U.K is a lot better than in Italy. I might return to Italy one day,but i cant say that will be in the near future. I am considering living here for the rest of my life with my sister,who emigrated 7 years ago to Devon to work as a florist and now has her own business in Exeter and has a flat in Oxford’s city centre. The problem i have is just the feeling that Italy has dug itself to far into a grave that cannot be pulled out of. Its pessimistic and negative,but i cant say im hopeful. I miss my parents so much and my dear grandmother and friends,even though 4 have emigrated as well (2 to the U.K as well,with one in Edinburgh and the other in Canterbury) and the others to Canada and Sweden. I know i made the right choice though. I think your a very brave person though to take on Journalism and make a change in Italy. Our Media is an embaressment to the world,sexist and biased beyond belief,but if you could change that i would be great. As for me i think ill stick around in the U.K for some time. I love it here,paticulary the British themselves. Definetley some of the warmest,well mannered people in the world,with terrific accents as well!!!

      • Unfortunately services in our country are really bad. I still have hope, especially now that Berlusconi is gone. I see a lot of young people willing to make a change and I think that if we keep fighting we’ll be able to win our future back. I don’t blame you for losing hope, Italy is no country for young men. And our journalism, despite being usually very well written, has to lose bias and tell the news. Hope I’ll be able to take part in it!

  2. Berlusconi (Spit) was a monster i agree. The thing many British people would question me on why we didnt get rid of him sooner. Fact is we couldnt,he controlled the media and forced us to believe in him,and im not sure if he still controls it. His scars will haunt Italy for decades though,and im just worried if he F***** it up good and proper to no avail. And yes,our services are pretty poor. Our cafes and restaursnts are still good,as they are family run but our train services,post offices and education systems??? Pezzi di merda!!!! i had to teach myself English as my school was short on staff and couldnt be bothered probably to teach us anyway. The train services in the U.K are not cheap,but the trains are comfortbale and have air conditioning. One thing that i can do in the U.K which i cant get enough of though is Shopping!!!!! Italy is good for shopping but i think the U.K is just great. I love Topman,Primark,Entertainment Exchange and Past Times,and the Markets?? Wow Amazing!!!

      • Ciao Carolina. This looks like great fun! im an Italian living in the North East of England (Durham) and we dont have big Italian markets like this up here. Granted the Italian diaspora is increasing i do miss Italian food and wine (dont miss the beer though,after trying good English ale im hooked). But i do agree with Marti90.ive been here 8 years now and have dual citizenship. By trade i am Bar owner in Durham and the building,lease and rents that i pay are half of what i would oay in my home town of Ancona (and better quality too). And as much as i love Italy i just couldnt go back. Berlusconi ruined the place and it has beome a elder male generated society. Having said,i think you are a brave young woman to do what you do,Journalism in Italy is tough job. I hope yu can change it. But i think i will stya here. I love British culture and people more than anything. I used to work as a hotel receptionist and the British were always the most polite,reserved and complimentary people we had as vistors,the Germans and the Australians????? Goodness me talk about egos 😉 (P.S you will get used to the weather,it is not as bad as people make it out to be,here in the North East it is cold but dry and sunny and i have been to Dorset and it is hot down there! great beaches as well!!! Ciao Bella!!

      • Unfortunately I am aware of the fact that I would have never found a job if I had started journalism in my country. Here everyone is helpful and they are more willing to make way for young people: I have already found two weeks of work experience without too much of a hustle. I’m planning on going on living in the UK after Uni and then, if possible, move to Italy and try to do something there. I know it’s going to be difficult, but I really hope that in a few years Berlusconi’s influence will fade. Glad you’re enjoying life here: I, too, am making the most out of it. I feel I couldn’t have come to a better place! Ciao 🙂

  3. Ciao Carolina!!

    This looks like good fun! Im a 22 year old Italian living in Bournemouth,have you heard of it??? although Bournemouth is beautfiul and was recently voted the 4th best European beach by Tripadvisor i miss home a lot. I do miss good Italian food and good Italian deli shops. Is this a annual event. I do love living here in Britian. Its the perople more than anything. British people have so much respect for Italian culture while maintaning their pride for their own. When im back home in Florence the brits were always a pleasure to deal with. They were polite,cultured and warm. And they are hilarious!!! so funny their humour is amazing love it!!! much more sarcastic than ours!!! i would love to come to this though have you got any dates?? I would love to go as i dont plan to return to Italy to live im afraid 😦 just too hard to make a living. Although i love Italy i acnt understand someone moving there. The last person to move there was from New Zealand. First thing all the Italians said to her was ‘WHY DID YOU MOVE TO ITALY!!!!!’ i think us Italians need to stop being so negative though!!!

    • Hey! Here’s La Dolce Vita’s website : http://ladolcevitaevent.co.uk/holding. I think they’ll replicate the event next year, as they have been doing for 9 years I think, but as for the dates it’s not sure yet. I myself enjoy living in the UK and think that it’s not the best time to move to Italy or simply to live there. Let’s make the most out of Britain! 🙂

  4. Looks Good Carolina. Greetings from a fellow Italian in Bristol. Love Italy as a country but must admit the U.K is a better though,purely because its offers a lot more in terms of employment. Its a shame we have to watch our country rot!!!!

Leave a comment