La Bruschetta: how to eat healthily without much effort

Buonasera!! Missed me? I bet not! But…Well! These days I thought I’d better start writing again and I thought: “Why don’t I talk about Italian cuisine?” . Since everyone is basically praising it (and I think they’re right, I SO miss proper Italian food!) I thought I could start blogging about food too.

We’re at university, so obviously we’ve got so many things to think about ( essays, deadlines, going out, having fun or whatever) that, when it comes to cooking, we all think: “Oh, I can’t be bothered: let’s buy something ready made at Tesco’s”. Well, apart from being bad for your health, this is just boring: you’re losing the fun of cooking. So here’s one of my favourite dishes, which is actually quite easy to make.

La Bruschetta could be a great starter, but it can actually turn into a proper meal. At the restaurant you can pay a fortune for 2 bruschette, but doing them yourself is just better. All you need is good bread and some fantasy.

As for bread, I think that some good Waitrose ciabatta should do the trick. Cut some slices (not that thin, you have to put things on it!) and put them in the oven. Once they are nice and crispy you can take them out and then… work with your fantasy!

I’ll give you my three favourite recipes for Bruschetta. The first one involves tomatoes, extra-virgin olive oil(my favourite one is Alghero’s Olio San Giuliano, but I don’t think you’ll find it in here!),some basil leaves, parmesan or mozzarella, salt. Cut the tomatoes in slices (you can choose big tomatoes and cut them in slices or cherry tomatoes, which are generally cut in four small pieces), place them on the pieces of bread you cut before. Cut some slices of parmesan and put them on the tomatoes. If you use mozzarella, it would be better to put it in the oven with the slices of bread to make it melt. Then simply put olive oil, basil and salt on your bruschetta and you can start enjoying it!

The other recipe is even simpler: rub garlic on your slices of bread and wet them with extra-virgin oil. Then put them in the oven and take them out as soon as they’re ready, putting some salt on them. In a way, this bruschetta is similar to your English garlic bread. 

For the last recipe you need mozzarella and mushrooms: just put them in the oven on the slices of bread you cut and wait until they’re ready.

The result should generally taste very good and you should then have some healthy food on your plate. There are many recipes you can try: you can put whatever you want on your bread. Buon appetito!

Pictures by: ricette.pourfemme.it; italianfoodnet.com; cucina.doki.it; mezzokilo.it.

Leave a comment